Updating Graphics Drivers - how-to

Help center. Members helping members
Forum rules
This topic is 11 years and 2 months old. Instead of replying, please begin a new topic, or search for another related topic that may be more suitable.
mmsven
Member
Posts: 2705
Joined: September 24th, 2006
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0

Postby mmsven » Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:05 am

So heres something for the many people who are having problems concerning their graphics and need an update.

First find out which company made your graphics card, look on the box or ask someone to find out, then go to the official site and download the newest graphics drivers available. At this point your going to want to set up a restore point incase something goes wrong, click the start button and go to "Help and support" then click "Undo changes to your computer with System Restore" and create the restore point. Now uninstall the current graphics drivers you are using in Control panel/Add or remove programs, restart your computer. You will notice that you are running at a low resolution and graphics load slow after that, this is normal. Now disable your firewall and install the new graphics drivers, then restart again. Now your graphics will run superb but you have to check one thing, go to your System properties/Hardware/Device manager, you should see a Display adapters device, if there is more then one display adapter in it you should disable the one you don't want. Now games and everything should run good.

I'm pretty sure I didn't miss anything. I'm using Windows XP, If theres a different process for other O/S then please post it here.
Ruler of Chatrooms
User avatar
nobby76
Member
Posts: 3961
Joined: August 29th, 2006
Location: Just off the coast of Saturn
Reputation: 17

Postby nobby76 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:50 pm

Heres the links to the two most popular makers of graphics cards.

NVIDIA

ATI

Hope these help !

Nobby
Image
LONG LIVE THE NOOBS, THEY WILL OVER THROW US WITH THERE VASTLY SUPERIOR STUPIDITY.
Check out the Tutorial Making songs without having to fret a single note And come check out the IRC Chatroom
Darth Hideous
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: February 4th, 2007
Location: Trädet, Sweden
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby Darth Hideous » Mon Feb 05, 2007 10:43 am

Also, to find out what graphics card you have, the easiest way is to right click your desktop and choose "Properties...".

It's in the video settings or something.
User avatar
Scott678
Member
Posts: 174
Joined: March 1st, 2007
Location: USA
Reputation: 0

Postby Scott678 » Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:20 am

thanks!
DarkHugo08
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 6th, 2007
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby DarkHugo08 » Tue May 08, 2007 8:59 pm

My graphic card is not in the list, i have a ATI RADEON EXPRESS 200

EDITED: NVM , i found it on another list.
Last edited by DarkHugo08 on Tue May 08, 2007 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tibiazak
Member
Posts: 2798
Joined: November 24th, 2006
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby tibiazak » Tue May 08, 2007 9:42 pm

um, i've found that the best way to find out what card you have is to go to start->programs->accessories->system tools->system information. then you choose graphics or something... or you can download everest (good practice for using google) which will tell you everything about your computer you could ever need to know.
Welcome to an internet message board, where every answer comes with a free side of sarcasm or criticism. Enjoy your stay.
DarkHugo08
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 6th, 2007
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby DarkHugo08 » Tue May 08, 2007 11:29 pm

What am I supose to do with that now?

Image
mmsven
Member
Posts: 2705
Joined: September 24th, 2006
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0

Postby mmsven » Tue May 08, 2007 11:46 pm

DarkHugo08, what graphics card do you have
DarkHugo08
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 6th, 2007
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby DarkHugo08 » Tue May 08, 2007 11:52 pm

ATI RADEON XPRESS 200

(Listed in the Integrated/Motherboard on the ATI site)
mmsven
Member
Posts: 2705
Joined: September 24th, 2006
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0

Postby mmsven » Tue May 08, 2007 11:56 pm

Check the list of compatable graphics cards on the driver you downloaded.
DarkHugo08
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 6th, 2007
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby DarkHugo08 » Wed May 09, 2007 12:02 am

What do you mean..?
whatakevin
Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: February 12th, 2007
Reputation: 0

Postby whatakevin » Wed May 09, 2007 12:04 am

LMFAO!!! has it come down to this??? a driver update tutourial...

actually mmsven, most graphical drivers automaticly do the work, just download an click, itll uninstall old ones, set restore point, blah blah blah, install new driver
mmsven
Member
Posts: 2705
Joined: September 24th, 2006
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0

Postby mmsven » Wed May 09, 2007 12:05 am

I use GeForce, here is the list of products supported for my driver.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/93.71_winxp_32_supported.html
mmsven
Member
Posts: 2705
Joined: September 24th, 2006
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0

Postby mmsven » Wed May 09, 2007 12:10 am

whatakevin wrote:actually mmsven, most graphical drivers automaticly do the work, just download an click, itll uninstall old ones, set restore point, blah blah blah, install new driver

Actually whatakevin, they don't EVERY time.

Most drivers don't automaticly uninstall the other ones, but override them, which can cause problems due to excess files.

And if the maximum ammount of space is used for restore points, it wont set one.
DarkHugo08
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 6th, 2007
Location: Canada
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Postby DarkHugo08 » Wed May 09, 2007 4:36 pm

I redownloaded the Driver and retried it for the fourth time now and it worked :)

Thank you for your support anyway :p
Last edited by DarkHugo08 on Wed May 09, 2007 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests